Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Follow us on Twitter and Facebook

media

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Vaginal atrophy  (Read 3523 times)

Littlepuss

Vaginal atrophy
« on: April 05, 2018, 09:48:46 AM »

Hi all
Newbie here I was diagnosed with the above in January 2017. I have been back and for to the GP who has so far given me Ovestin, vagifem all at different times. Nothing seems to work properly. I have been given all the usual moisturisers to try but although it does appear to be a little better I just can't get rid of the itch. It is driving me nuts as it's not a place you can really itch in public 😐. I am also on oral HRT for night sweats etc and they have disappeared so that is great it's just the itch that keeps me awake at night. I have also been given timodine to try to allay it but doesn't really help. My dr has now said I should go and see a Gynecologist but the waiting list is around 5 months so am considering going private. I am happy to pay in the circumstances but wondered if they will be able to prescribe any else. Also my husband and I haven't had penetrative sex in over a year.
Sorry for such a long first post but wanted to get all the info in .
TIA
Pp

Daisydot

Re: Vaginal atrophy
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2018, 09:58:51 AM »

Hi Littlepuss and welcome.you may have BV so you could try Balance active BV gel,you can either use it pessarie style or a tube of gel which you squeeze inside.its very messy but works a treat.its a course of 7 days if I remember correctly and you can buy otc in boots etc.the first night it can sting a bit but by second night it's usually started doing it's stuff.its very good,I'd try that first before going down the private route.good luck xx

Littlepuss

« Reply #2 on: April 05, 2018, 10:05:11 AM »

Thank you so much I will get on and buy it today . 😀

Dancinggirl

« Reply #3 on: April 05, 2018, 10:48:18 AM »