Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Not a Forum member? You can still subscribe to our Free Newsletter

media

Author Topic: Vulvodynia  (Read 1938 times)

Lucylocket

Vulvodynia
« on: February 25, 2018, 10:23:31 AM »

Hello all,

I am new to Menopause matters (I am 49) and have just had a blood test to check if I am in the perimenopause stage.  The reason my GP thinks this, is that I suffer from Vulvodynia and it has just flared up again for no reason (the first time it came on was due to a bout of thrush that took 8 weeks to clear up) leaving me with vulvodynia.  My GP thinks the reason it has flared up again could be because I am perimenopausal and because I use  POP contraceptive with no estrogen, the lack of estrogen is causing the Vulvodynia again.  Does anyone else have this issue, or have any experience of this?  I am anxious to know if the vulvodynia could really flare up because of lack of estrogen?  Also, if I do have to take HRT, what are all your experiences of it? 
Glad to be here, and look forward to corresponding with you all. 

Dancinggirl

Re: Vulvodynia
« Reply #1 on: February 25, 2018, 10:45:42 AM »

Hi and welcome to MM

Yes, absolutely.  Lack of oestrogen is the cause of urogenital atrophy and symptoms of thrush, BV and UTI type symptoms.  Soreness, dryness etc. are all part of the joys of the menopause and often start when we begin the peri meno stage. How old are you?  HRT would definitely help but if you are already getting urogenital issues then local oestrogen would be a good idea alongside the systemic HRT.