Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Menopause Matters magazine ISSUE 76 out now. (Summer issue, June 2024)

media

Author Topic: Mirena Coil not controlling hormones  (Read 3706 times)

elsie001

Mirena Coil not controlling hormones
« on: January 20, 2018, 03:43:52 PM »

I had the mirena fitted 2.5 years ago and have been really pleased with it. 

However, I had a period on 18th December which lasted a week and then another one on 7th Jan which also lasted a week.

I can cope with the bleeds but not so much with the pms-type symptoms - insomnia, feeling wired and anxious, sore nipples, stretchy discharge.

GP did a womb biopsy and checked coil was still in place, which it was.  Should get the biopsy results in approx 3 weeks.

Would be grateful for any advice?

dahliagirl

Re: Mirena Coil not controlling hormones
« Reply #1 on: January 20, 2018, 04:23:50 PM »

I am not an expert, but having read the mirena webpages, and looking at their stats, I think that only about 60% of women actually stop having periods over 2 mirenas when it is used as a contraceptive at normal reproductive ages, although most of the others will have much reduced bleeding.

The amount of hormone given out gradually reduces,  but usually it is longer than 2 years before proper bleeds return.  Hope your results come back good.  Maybe there is something wrong with this mirena?

elsie001

« Reply #2 on: January 20, 2018, 06:06:03 PM »

Thanks dahlia girl, I've decided to have the mirena removed but have no idea what to do instead.  I'm 52 & have been peri for what seems like forever!

Dancinggirl

« Reply #3 on: January 20, 2018, 06:39:47 PM »