Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Follow us on Twitter and Facebook

media

Author Topic: Soon to start HRT but feeling anxious  (Read 567 times)

Tashw72

Soon to start HRT but feeling anxious
« on: May 26, 2021, 06:27:58 AM »

Hi everyone, newbie here.

Finally plucked up the courage to speak to the doctor about starting HRT and after initially feeling pleased that I actually got a positive response I am now DREADING starting the tablets. 

I have been prescribed Elleste Duet 1mg and have failed to find any positive feedback anywhere on the 'net about this from other users. I have always suffered hugely from PMT, bloating, incredibly painful periods, terrible mood etc and all I seem to read is that the progesterone part of the cycle seems to result in similar symptoms.  I even gave up my job as period pain made it very difficult for 3/4 days per month (I have set up my own business working from home so every cloud....)

I am so worried about starting it.  Is there ANYONE out there with a positive tale to tell about this treatment? Surely it must be the right treatment for some? I am happy to take tablets as I swim regularly at lunchtimes so thought perhaps gels, patches etc might not be practical.

Perinowpost

Re: Soon to start HRT but feeling anxious
« Reply #1 on: May 26, 2021, 07:01:58 AM »

It’s one of the cheapest so quite often offered first. You could try it and see if you like it. If you don’t then go back and ask to switch. Gels and patches won’t be affected by swimming, and they’re in a class of their own. Wishing you luck x

Lamplighter

« Reply #2 on: May 26, 2021, 08:00:32 AM »