Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Follow us on Twitter and Facebook

media

Author Topic: Thinking of starting HRT  (Read 2004 times)

Alihughes

Thinking of starting HRT
« on: December 13, 2017, 01:02:34 PM »

HI I am new to this forum - i have been feeling very up and down emotionally also suffering from insomnia and weight gain round the belly.  I seem to have put on a stone since february (my dad died) but I am a very fit and healthy person - 3 or 4 times to the gym a week and daily dog walks.  Also very healthy diet - obviously a few treats and a glass of wine here and there.  The last few months I have been very emotional - tearful, angry etc and these moods can change in seconds!! They are obvs a few issues with losing my Dad but the main emotions are coming from the menopause I believe.  So I have been considering HRT - am 54 and haven't had a period for 2 years ish....Have coped ok with symptoms but recently just feel weighed down by it all and very tired from lack of good sleep.

Would welcome any comments - I have always been one to try to solve things naturally but should I just give the HRT a go?

Dotty

Re: Thinking of starting HRT
« Reply #1 on: December 13, 2017, 01:26:50 PM »

Yes.....I've just started HRT . I'm 53 and 3 years post menopause.  I waited till my symptoms got really bad (partly because I didn't realise they were menopausal symptoms) and would urge anyone to do it as soon as they feel the symptoms.

Alihughes

« Reply #2 on: December 13, 2017, 01:46:05 PM »

Also would like some advice on the different types of HRT - dont want to have a period again .....and dont want to try one that will put more weight gain on!

Dotty

« Reply #3 on: December 13, 2017, 01:54:45 PM »

Hi you need a continuous regime (conti) . those are for post menopausal women who haven't had a period for a year.

Hurdity

« Reply #4 on: December 13, 2017, 05:58:15 PM »

Hi Alihughes

:welcomemm: