Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Mobile version of the Forum Click here

media

Author Topic: Surgical menopause  (Read 2068 times)

Carolinehunter

Surgical menopause
« on: October 15, 2017, 08:01:02 PM »

Hi all. I'm very new to all this.
I'm waiting on my date to go in for tvh and removal of remaining ovary. Please please is there any positive stories of the surgical menopause. I'm absolutely terrified of what might come and need to know if any of you ladies haven't found it to bad.
My friend keep telling me to stay off the internet as people only post about the horrible things. Pleas help I'm so anxious. Caroline 45 and not premenopausal that I'm aware of.

Taz2

Re: Surgical menopause
« Reply #1 on: October 15, 2017, 08:55:18 PM »

Everyone is different but hopefully you've discussed HRT options? It may take a while to find the best one for you but it's worth persevering.

Taz xx

Carolinehunter

« Reply #2 on: October 15, 2017, 09:36:10 PM »

No one has discussed anything with me, my consultant said I needed a hysterectomy and that would put me in to menopause but we can give u HRT to sort that and that was it. I was so naive about it all. I thought you got a few hot flashes and they gave you HRT and that was you sorted. Just need to hearsome positive experiences.

Annie0710

« Reply #3 on: October 15, 2017, 09:57:23 PM »

There'll be lots of success stories for sure, but those women rarely join forums as they don't need advice or support

Taz2

« Reply #4 on: October 15, 2017, 10:39:43 PM »

Hi Caroline - have you joined the Hysterectomy Association UK forum? I'm sure you will get lots of support on there as well as from us. I found them to be really helpful when I was waiting for my op. This is the Surgical Menopause thread https://forums.hysterectomy-association.org.uk/forums/forum/managing-the-menopause/surgical-menopause/

Taz x

walkingthedog