Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Got a story to tell for the magazine? Get in touch with the editor!

media

Author Topic: Oestrogel and utrogestan advice,please  (Read 1668 times)

MidsummerRose

Oestrogel and utrogestan advice,please
« on: October 12, 2017, 02:57:01 PM »

Hello everyone, Newbie,here! I'm 36 and on oestrogel and utrogestan for severe PMS

..I know this is a menopause forum but I think I will soon hit that stage as I have been plagued by all sorts of weird,vague symptoms for a couple of years now. I've been using the oestrogel a bit intermittently for the past three months (although I was told to use 2 pumps daily and to keep going). I've stopped the treatment for a week at at a time on a few occasions pending clarification from the gynaecologist about a particular side effect I felt I was experiencing due to it.

I have noticed an improvement in my mood on the oestrogel (although I've still had some bad days). I made a start on the utrogestan 100mg capsules earlier this month. The gynaecologist I saw asked me to take utrogestan for 7 days the first of each calendar month. So far the oestrogel hasn't suppressed my own cycle as I still have my own regular normal bleed. Is it absolutely necessary to take the utrogestan if l still have my own regular cycle? Also, I feel that if you're taking utrogestan for the first seven days of each month,couldn't you have a situation where you end up taking it just as your menstruation might be starting?

I'm asking this because the gynaecologist I saw really didn't seem to listen to me and prescribed what I feel might have been a one size fits all treatment.

Hurdity

Re: Oestrogel and utrogestan advice,please
« Reply #1 on: October 13, 2017, 07:45:35 AM »

Hi MidsummerRose