Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Please have a look at the questionnaire page if you have a spare minute.

media

Author Topic: Side effects from HRT  (Read 4137 times)

Tracy5603

Side effects from HRT
« on: September 25, 2017, 08:04:09 PM »

Hi, I am new to this and would appreciate other people's experiences when starting HRT..I'm feeling nauseated, breast pain, anxious, very low in mood and irritable..all these have got much worse since starting HRT and I thought it was going to help...I feel awful is this normal ??...x

peri

Re: Side effects from HRT
« Reply #1 on: September 25, 2017, 08:19:55 PM »

Hi Tracy5603

Sorry to hear you're not feeling well.  What hrt are you on and how old are you?

Dancinggirl

« Reply #2 on: September 25, 2017, 08:40:10 PM »

Hi and welcome to MM Tracy5603
Do tell us the meno symptoms you are trying to control and which HRT you are using.  Where are you in your meno journey e.g. peri or post meno? WE can advice you better if we have more details.

It is a matter of trial and error with HRT - we are all different so it's about finding the treatment that suits you.
DG x

Salad

« Reply #3 on: September 25, 2017, 09:28:53 PM »

Hi  :welcomemm:

It can take a while to get the HRT to suit you and at the correct dose - usually the dose starts low and you increase until symptoms controlled.

Don't give up yet  :foryou:

CLKD

• changes can be scary, even when we want them
« Reply #4 on: September 25, 2017, 10:15:21 PM »

:welcomemm:  sadly, HRT isn't the magic cure that would be expected or hoped for.  It can be Trial and Error at a time in Life where we should be Getting On.

Maybe keeping a mood/food/symptom diary would be useful.  Also note your bleeds, energy levels etc..  These details can be discussed with your Practice Nurse or GP.