Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Not a Forum member? You can still subscribe to our Free Newsletter

media

Author Topic: Newbie here....  (Read 1145 times)

Vieja Bruja

Newbie here....
« on: August 14, 2017, 12:03:04 PM »

Hi, I've been lurking for a couple of weeks and have finally got time to sit down and introduce myself.

I'm 48 and peri-menopausal, I've had a range of 'manageable' symptoms for about a year but the hot and sleepless nights are causing the most problems.  As I am still on the pill the doc was reluctant to start me on HRT and suggested Fluoxetine (20mg) so I've been taking that for about a month but I'm still waking during the night and have terrible hot flushes until about lunchtime.  I have doubled my dose of fluoxetine from today (as directed by the doc) so I'm hoping that this starts to make a difference and that I can finally get a proper kip and not start yawning at 1pm every day !

Its nice to have a place to come and read about other people's experiences and learn how to manage my symptoms.

x

CLKD

• changes can be scary, even when we want them
Re: Newbie here....
« Reply #1 on: August 14, 2017, 01:43:49 PM »

Some ADs certainly can ease hot flushes.  It can take 4-6 months to notice benefit sometimes  ::)

Browse round.   :welcomemm:

Hurdity

« Reply #2 on: August 14, 2017, 02:30:49 PM »

Hi Vieja Bruja

:welcomemm: - I love your name! I knew the vieja so looked up the bruja  ::)

But nooooooooo!!! Your doctor should not have prescribed you Fluoxetine for menopausal symptoms! Aaaagghhh!!! Sorry Vieja - it just is so frustrating to keep coming across this from GPs! And doubling the dose too!!!