Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Menopause Matters magazine ISSUE 76 out now. (Summer issue, June 2024)

media

Author Topic: HRT side effects  (Read 3756 times)

stephnicoledavis

HRT side effects
« on: July 13, 2017, 10:19:57 PM »

good evening ladies. I'm very new to all this and still finding my way around. I'm Steph and I'm 30 years old. Twelve weeks ago I was prescribed HRT (Estradiol gel) after two and a half years of menopause symptoms (hot flushes, night sweats, insomnia, anxiety, vaginal dryness to the point of tearing, erratic emotions, acne, sore breasts and no period) and moving from GP to GP to establish the cause. After a routine depo injection appointment with a fantastic nurse and questions I had not previously been asked, it was established that I should start a course of HRT. The first eight weeks were amazing, my acne disappeared, my emotions stabilised, my hot flushes eased and my night sweats stopped. I was getting uninterrupted sleep for the first time in years. Now however, twelve weeks on and although the hot flushes have gone and the night sweats are few and far between I have all of a sudden gained more acne than previously, headaches every evening and tremendous weight gain but just to my tummy area. Is this something else any others have experienced? Iv been exercising like a crazy lady and cut all rubbish from my diet and still piling the weight on. Iv got a holiday coming up soon and this combined with the horrendous acne mess on my face is starting to really get me down and not looking forward to going bare faced in a bikini. Xxx

CLKD

• changes can be scary, even when we want them
Re: HRT side effects
« Reply #1 on: July 13, 2017, 10:26:16 PM »

:welcomemm:  Maybe your hormones are active enough to over-ride some of the HRT?