Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Not a Forum member? You can still subscribe to our Free Newsletter

media

Author Topic: How long does oestrogen take to leave your system?  (Read 38391 times)

FoggyMoggy

How long does oestrogen take to leave your system?
« on: May 26, 2017, 02:39:36 PM »

Hi there

I quit HRT patches a few weeks ago as I thought they were giving me more migraines. But I'm still getting them. Could oestrogen still be in my body?  I was on combination patches so the same question about progesterone.

THanks in advance

peri

Re: How long does oestrogen take to leave your system?
« Reply #1 on: May 26, 2017, 07:35:14 PM »

Hi Foggymoggy

I am no expert, but I think it leaves your system pretty quickly.  I only say this as I actually feel my oestrogen patches run out, and within 2 hours of replacing one (evorel 50) , I start to feel better - I'm like the Duracell dog, lol x

dangermouse

« Reply #2 on: May 26, 2017, 09:26:28 PM »

I found that the hormones will leave via your bowels after a few days but they will have set off a certain type of cycle in perimenopause, so it may take at least one clear cycle for things to reset. Ive also read that transdermal hormones can build up in fat cells but I'm not sure if it's true or not.

Dancinggirl

« Reply #3 on: May 26, 2017, 10:12:51 PM »

If you are post meno then the Oestegen will drop
Off quite quickly - so within the first couple of weeks. When I stop HRT my headaches always get worse. If you are peri meno then the headaches can continue because hormones are fluctuating.  Are they true migraines or just bad tension type headaches?
DG x

FoggyMoggy

« Reply #4 on: May 26, 2017, 10:45:14 PM »

Hi, thanks for all your replies. I get both migraine and headaches, Dancing Girl. I thought they started increasing on the patches but I'm still getting them. But hormones aren't the only cause of them.

br350