Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Please have a look at the questionnaire page if you have a spare minute.

media

Author Topic: Utrogestan dose help!  (Read 3032 times)

Amanda64

• First Flush
Utrogestan dose help!
« on: March 28, 2017, 08:10:45 PM »

Hi, Please can someone advise me before i go back to the Dr as i "think" i've been given the wrong dose of Utrogestan tablets?
This is my first time trying HRT, I'm 52, been in peri for 3 years now and have heavy periods but only every 3 to 5 months. I haven't had a period for 6 months now & i wont bore you with all the menopause symptoms i have but they have built up to "bloody awful" levels!!
So after reading up online about the best ones on the NHS, i saw a new Dr i've never met before, asked for hrt, & said i would prefer "non-horse urine" patches for the estrogen & Utrogestan as the progesterone.
The Dr, who was very young had never heard of Utrogestan & had to look it up on her computer, she said to take one 100mg tablet for 12 days, but it wasn't till i got home i realised everywhere i've read including the leaflet in the box says that for peri-menopause its 200mg for 12 days (& for post-menopause its 100mg for 25 days) out of 28.
Should i go back and query this dose? Like i say this was the first time she'd prescribed Utrogestan, she was very young & wasn't all that happy about giving me HRT to start with (but me being a total blubbering wreck probably helped!)
To be fair she did give me the types i asked for.
On day 15 i have to start the Utrogestan so i want to sort this out before then.
Sorry if i've rambled on, can anyone here help...... is this dose ok? or should i go back? Does anyone here take only 100mg over 12 days? I don't want to look an idiot if i go back & ask, my brain has been all over the place recently, but i'm a bit worried that it might not be enough to protect the womb lining.

MicheleMaBelle

Re: Utrogestan dose help!