Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Not a Forum member? You can still subscribe to our Free Newsletter

media

Author Topic: atrophic endometrium  (Read 8893 times)

Bird

atrophic endometrium
« on: March 16, 2017, 05:45:35 PM »

Hello!  I am new to this message board and seeking help.

I recently had a endometrium biopsy.  Prior to that, I had a pelvic ultrasound which showed that the lining of my uterus was thicker than normal.  But the diagnosis from the biopsy shows I have atrophic endometrium -which means my lining is thinner than normal. As you can imagine, this is very confusing.  Additionally, the pathologist also reported that although he was able to make a diagnosis, the sample was suboptimal.

Anyone have an experience with this?  I have an email out my doctor about this, but I would like to hear from women who have atrophic endometrium.

Many thanks,

Bird

Annemaria

Re: atrophic endometrium
« Reply #1 on: March 16, 2017, 06:08:46 PM »

Hi Bird,
Yes, this is just exactly what I went through last fall. Ultrasound said 8mm. Went in for D&C/biopsy. Result was atrophied endometrium less than 1mm. and barely enough sample for biopsy. GYN said ultrasound was read incorrectly. I'm still scratching my head over this one as well.

Bird

« Reply #2 on: March 17, 2017, 10:14:42 PM »

Hi Annemaria,

Even with a D&C, there wasn't enough of a sample? 

I had three attempts for the biopsy:  1) at my check-up, without any painkillers.  We didn't get far.  2) Another one scheduled a week later, with the use of 1m adavin; had to stop because of the pain and the pathologist couldn't determine anything because the sample size was too small, and then finally 3) a week ago, with 2m adavin and hydrocodone and although the pathologist made a diagnosis, still noted that the sample was suboptimal.

My ob/gyn recommends a wait-and-see approach - do another ultrasound in three months.