Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Got a story to tell for the magazine? Get in touch with the editor!

media

Author Topic: New to HRT - what should I expect, Ladies?  (Read 3938 times)

suegre60

• First Flush
New to HRT - what should I expect, Ladies?
« on: September 19, 2016, 11:53:12 AM »

Hi

I am 56 and just want to feel like "me" again. My periods stopped almost two years ago, preceded by horrendous monthly headaches and the usual heavy periods ( I had an endometrial ablation in 2010 but they didn't stop!).

After 18 months of hot flushes, night sweats, anxiety and indecisiveness ( if M & S make about 30 different styles of knickers, how do they expect a menopausal woman to choose!) and a complete loss of libido, I saw my lovely GP who said give HRT a try. I am an ex nurse so was really unsure and did lots of research. She had suggested Tibolone but I wanted a patch so I stuck the first Evorel Conti on last Wednesday. Within an hour I was retching, like morning sickness, which I presume was due to the Norethisterone but by Saturday my husband thought all his Christmases had come at once when I finally felt I wanted more than a cuddle! I changed the patch yesterday and again had an hour of retching. The night sweats are definitely better but the hot flushes probably about the same yet but I definitely feel a bit less foggy. How long on average, ladies, should I expect to wait for the full effect?

clare663

Re: New to HRT - what should I expect, Ladies?
« Reply #1 on: September 19, 2016, 02:28:04 PM »

Hi suefre60, I tried the Everol 50 conti patches and found they worked pretty quickly on my hot flushes (about 3 days) but I did have to start on half a patch as I found the whole patch had a strange effect on me. I gradually increased it over 3 weeks but sadly had to stop using them after 6 weeks as my mood plummited!!

suegre60

• First Flush
« Reply #2 on: September 19, 2016, 03:23:32 PM »