Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Got a story to tell for the magazine? Get in touch with the editor!

media

Author Topic: Hi New to all this  (Read 2875 times)

LL70

Hi New to all this
« on: June 14, 2016, 08:04:09 AM »

Hi,

I'm new to all this. 46 years old and  I think I've been peri for over a year, however, its not been until my periods started to go a bit random that the thought of it being peri menopause occurred.  I was also having night sweats, poor sleep and terrible mood swings that have been affecting my family.

I self referred to a menopause clinic and they have given me HRT patches Evorll Sequi.  I have just finished my 1st month on the patches and when I used the Everol 50 for the 1st two weeks by day 7 I had noticed a change in my mood, however when I changed to the Evorel Conti by day 3 I was back to having terrible mood swings. 

I know that these things can take time to settle and going to keep going for the 3 month period.  Did anyone else feel like this and it all settled down?

Thanks for reading this.

Dancinggirl

Re: Hi New to all this
« Reply #1 on: June 14, 2016, 08:45:17 AM »

Hi and welcome to MM LL70
It is trial and error before one finds the HRT that suits.  As you are still peri meno, the HRT patches may not be the best way forward at the moment as they are medium strength and your own hormones will still be fluctuating in the background so will bring highs and lows.  Also the patches have the synthetic progesterones that tend to be more likely to give PMT types symptoms.
I would suggest you give the patches another month to see if things settle and then possibly try Femoston Sequi 1/10 pills as the progesterone in this HRT is a kinder one and suits many women better. There are many different types to try so do look under TREATMENTS at the top of this page to get clued up.  It's worth peservering and most of us find somethings that suits.