Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Not a Forum member? You can still subscribe to our Free Newsletter

media

Author Topic: Sertraline  (Read 3634 times)

carolann

Sertraline
« on: July 05, 2016, 05:49:24 PM »

Hi today my doctor prescribed Sertraline for my hot flushes have been struggling with them for seven years now plus other symptoms but as my sister had breast cancer ten years ago have been reluctant  to try hrt but have been reading about the side effects of Sertraline and have been put off taking them and feedback or advice would be really appreciated  thanks xxx

Justjules

Re: Sertraline
« Reply #1 on: July 05, 2016, 07:26:14 PM »

Hi Carolann, I've no experience of HRT but loads of ladies on here can offer good up to date advice about risks etc, which aren't as bad as they used to be made out to be but I have taken Sertraline and to be honest, would never take it for hot flushes! Obviously, I'm not medically qualified, your GP is, but to give somebody them for mainly hot flushes seems odd. Not to put you off, as everybody is different, I couldn't tolerate them but plenty of people swear by them.

CLKD

• changes can be scary, even when we want them
« Reply #2 on: July 05, 2016, 08:20:35 PM »

I thought that this is an anti-depressant/anxiety medication?  If you use the search button you will see how other ladies get on with it. 

Even though your sister has had breast cancer, was it oestrogen dominant?  One needs to consider quality of life too, so have a browse round, make notes. 

When was your last period, what age are you - for ladies with an early menopause they need oestrogen to protect bones and heart until 50+ years old. 

breeze

« Reply #3 on: July 05, 2016, 08:22:29 PM »

Didn't suit me at all, but you never know until you try.

Everyone is different.