Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Menopause Matters magazine ISSUE 76 out now. (Summer issue, June 2024)

media

Author Topic: First doctors appointment to discuss menopause; What must I ask?  (Read 2563 times)

pickle

Hi, as it takes so long to get an appointment, I am concerned that I miss vital questions. Its my first time discussing menopause {which I believe I have started } .

The last thing I want to do is miss something really important. I have never been to this doctors , so no idea who will be greeting me.

Any help would be so appreciated.
Thankyou 

CLKD

• changes can be scary, even when we want them
Re: First doctors appointment to discuss menopause; What must I ask?
« Reply #1 on: June 14, 2016, 03:43:52 PM »

:welcomemm:

What is prompting the visit to talk to your GP?

So write down when you last period was, what symptoms you have had [which might not include hot flushes  ::)]; keeping a food/mood/cycle diary can give you an idea as to how you are throughout the month, it's easy to forget when we feel 'better'  ::).

My symptoms have varied.  Itchy insteps at the end of the day.  Sort of flushes across the back of my shoulders after my bath ……… but no real hot flushes.

If possible make a double appt. with either your GP or Practice Nurse.  Let us know how you get on!  Some GPs push anti-depressant (ADs) medication but if you aren't depressed, don't feel pressurised!

Browse round.  Make notes  ;)

pickle

« Reply #2 on: June 15, 2016, 11:11:00 AM »

Thank you so much for answering. I decided to visit my gp, as  my periods have gone from being regular as clockwork to months apart. My last being in December.

I am not having flushes , joints are achey,  lower back hurting .is  it a one treatment fits all i am so confused . I am not depressed..

Elizabethrose

« Reply #3 on: June 15, 2016, 12:07:22 PM »

Hi Pickle, welcome to the forum!