Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Follow us on Twitter and Facebook

media

Author Topic: New and confused  (Read 4899 times)

star-mam

New and confused
« on: April 28, 2016, 01:18:05 PM »

Hi, I'm new to all this but here goes...

I'm 40 years old and have been feeling 'strange' for a few years, really irritable, emotional, anxious, forgetful, occasional hot flushes and had bowel problems so bad I ended up having a colonoscopy (which showed no problems.) My periods were also going missing for a few months then returning but I put it all down to being a new mum (I adopted my son at around the same time as all this started!)

Fast forward to February this year and I realised I haven't had a period since last June, so went to the doctors. They did blood tests and said they showed I was probably menopausal but said they would have to repeat them in 3 months time. A month later I was finding things really hard, I was sent home from work because I was so emotional or anxious a couple of times so went back to the doctors and saw a nurse practitioner to ask for the second blood tests to be brought forwards. She decided my symptoms were a reaction to being told I was menopausal and prescribed beta blockers, I tried these once and felt so woozy I didn't take any more as I couldn't function properly (I work with young children as well as having one at home.)  Another week later I was again sent home from work so returned to the doctors and saw a different NP, who said my first blood tests were "borderline" but I could have them repeated straight away.

I then got a phone call to say the results were back and I needed to see a doctor; I was told the blood tests showed I am post-menopausal and that my ovaries have completely stopped working. I'm not sure how this fits with me still feeling so rubbish all the time though  :-\