Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Menopause Matters magazine ISSUE 76 out now. (Summer issue, June 2024)

media

Author Topic: Just started continuous combined HRT, help!!  (Read 3776 times)

Caro M

Just started continuous combined HRT, help!!
« on: July 05, 2016, 03:15:31 PM »

Hello ladies, this is my first post here, though I've been visiting this great website for the last two years as I've been battling with HRT.

I started two years ago on sequential (Evorel 50, Utrogestan 100 for 12 days of the month). The Evorel patches were fine; however I've struggled with the Utrogestan. It really brought on the old PMT symptoms like bloating, painful breasts and mood swings, plus my period would sometimes arrive within a couple of days of beginning the monthly Utrogestan (and sometimes not) which has made it difficult to regulate my cycle.

My wonderful GP retired earlier this year, and another doctor referred me to Dr Nick Panay's menopause clinic at the Chelsea and Westminster. Result, I thought! Dr Panay recommended I start on continuous combined, with a little added testosterone gel to help with flagging libido and motivation.

So, after about 20 days of 100mg Utrogestan every night, I felt awful. Really moody, bloated, breasts so painful I couldn't bear to even be hugged. Decided to drop the dose to every other day and see what happened. Four days in, I'm having a period. Not just spotting, a full on, painful period. I'm guessing my dose of progesterone wasn't high enough, but I would really welcome some advice. I'm now back on daily Utrogestan and wondering about the way forward. I really don't think I could bear to take Utrogestan every day if I continue to feel like this, but do the symptoms lessen over time? Should I persevere and hope for the best? I'm 53 and was looking forward to no more period after 40 years, but it seems a high price to pay.