Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Got a story to tell for the magazine? Get in touch with the editor!

media

Author Topic: Confused Newbie -HRT vs Natural  (Read 2455 times)

Sharry

Confused Newbie -HRT vs Natural
« on: March 11, 2016, 10:23:40 AM »

Hi Ladies,
I'm new to this so sorry if I ramble on.
I've always had menstral problems.Had a Novasure procedure 2yrs ago (didn't work)& Total Abdominal Hysterectomy & Bilateral Oopherectomy 4wks ago.
I have now been thrown into post menopause with full blown hot sweats etc
I'm only 42 & the Dr recommended I go onto HRT  ::) but I would prefer to try a natural method first as I also have an under active thyroid(18yrs)
Please could anyone help make sense of what I can try & who can help me ensure natural menopause remedies don't affect my thyroid  :(
Xxx

Dancinggirl

Re: Confused Newbie -HRT vs Natural
« Reply #1 on: March 11, 2016, 02:43:50 PM »

Hi and welcome to MM Sharry
You just need some reassurance - you will only be needing oestrogen I expect and you'll be pleased to hear that most oestrogens in HRT are now actually bio identical/natural. I would recommend either Oestrogel or patches, as using oestrogen transdermally is best. The Oestrogel allows you to adjust the dose to what you need (so you can use from one to 4 pumps per day) which can be  great but you do need to apply it daily - whereas some women prefer patches which only have to changed twice a week.
If you have thyroid issues, then often there needs to be some adjustments when HRT is added into the mix - so some monitoring may be necessary but  I believe HRT should actually help the thyroid. 
You are young and some oestrogen will protect your bones and heart for the long term, help prevent vaginal atrophy, bladder problems and reduce those nasty flushes and night sweats so there are many plusses.
Prescribed oestrogen is the best natural way to help you at this stage.