Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Please have a look at the questionnaire page if you have a spare minute.

media

Author Topic: Anyone in a similar predicament please?  (Read 3447 times)

Drbellevue

Anyone in a similar predicament please?
« on: February 17, 2016, 05:52:17 PM »

Hi. I'm new to this.  I've been on HRT for 21 years.  My doctor has said if I stay on it, I'm at risk from breast cancer. If I come off I'm at risk from strokes.  What do I do?  I've been on it so long due to premature menopause.  Any advice would be greatly appreciated please.

CLKD

• changes can be scary, even when we want them
Re: Anyone in a similar predicament please?
« Reply #1 on: February 17, 2016, 08:22:04 PM »

Change your GP?  I am sure that someone with knowledge of HRT will be along soon.  UK GPs have recently been given up-2-date guidelines regarding HRT …… if you use the 'search' button for GUIDELINES you may find it.

Do you have a family risk of breast disease?  Even so!!!! and why would you be at risk from strokes?

Have a browse at the Daisy web-site too, for girls with premature menopause.  There is a Link on the Forum.

dahliagirl

« Reply #2 on: February 17, 2016, 08:55:43 PM »

https://www.daisynetwork.org.uk/

The increase in breast cancer is small.  It is a correlation - no causal link has been found.

Taz2

« Reply #3 on: February 17, 2016, 10:32:53 PM »

Hi Drbellevue

If you began HRT at a young age then the years before you reached 51 don't count risk wise so you can deduct those from the twenty one years. This is because you were only replacing what should have been naturally yours up to the normal meno age. I'm not sure why you will be considered more at risk of strokes if you stop?

Taz x  :welcomemm:

Dancinggirl

« Reply #4 on: February 17, 2016, 10:38:45 PM »