Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Got a story to tell for the magazine? Get in touch with the editor!

media

Author Topic: First ever post - new member 46 and having lots of hot flushes  (Read 4076 times)

Phia

HI there,  I'm completely new to all this.  Over the last 4/6 weeks I been getting hot flushes.  They keep me awake for a lot of the night.  I get quite a few during the day.  Last week it must have been about 30 during the day but now its about 10.  It's such a shock as I wasn't expecting this until much older.  Looking back over the last few years I have definitely had more extreme PMT and have been a bit anxious and depressed at times - though not too bad.  I've also been forgetting words and my mind has felt quite foggy.  My periods were usually very regular and have started lasting for about 2 weeks and not so regular.

I am wondering how far into the menopause I am.  I had some blood tests back that said that my FSH is 83.3 and my LH is 36.8.  My Estrodile is <70.  I'm deficient in Vit D.  I had an internal scan which showed one of my ovaries to be quite small and that I don't have fibroids.  I've been trying to find out what this really means for me but its all so confusing.  I've been recommended to take Femoston by my Doctor but I don't know if to take it or not.  I don't know if its been going on for quite a while and so therefore I might be further through it?  Do some people go through the menopause and not take anything?  Does there come a point where you don't need to take anything? Should I take HRT to stop any of the side effects of the menopause from happening (bones and drying skin)?  This has all come as such a shock.  I'd love any advice please!  Thanks so much. xx   
« Last Edit: April 19, 2016, 10:14:26 AM by Phia »

Tinkerbell

Re: First ever post - new member 46 and having lots of hot flushes
« Reply #1 on: April 19, 2016, 10:49:59 AM »