Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Please have a look at the questionnaire page if you have a spare minute.

media

Pages: [1] 2 3 4

Author Topic: Really struggling with health anxiety - will it ever get better?  (Read 18499 times)

Justjules

Hi ladies, I'm a newbie - posted on the intro section but thought I'd give posting a go as I'm at my wit's end with myself.

Forgive the bit of a ramble - have read some of the other posts on health anxiety which have made me feel less of a nutcase, but I think I am now really going too far with all this.  I've always been a bit prone to hypochondria from being a child and was actually seriously ill in my twenties when I nearly died with peritonitis (long story) so that hasn't helped.  Over the last few years I have had:

breast cancer scare - recall from mammogram which was okay in the end;
water infection/blood in urine which led to investigations and convinced I had kidney cancer
then another breast cancer scare - again okay
always have heart worries as used to get really bad palpitations and am on betablockers but they don't bother me now
last December had to have bowel tests and was so convinced that I had bowel cancer - got myself in such a state that I even 'ran away' as I couldn't face it - what sane person does that sort of thing????  The tests proved negative, even though the symptoms were so real.