Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Please have a look at the questionnaire page if you have a spare minute.

media

Author Topic: Louisa  (Read 3500 times)

Louisa

Louisa
« on: November 23, 2015, 05:06:58 PM »

I am not technically a new member, before I was Bluebell59 and my comp had a virus so I've to start everything all over again.  How do you all cope with this Brain Fog thing, I am finding it rather scarey?  I am seeing my doc tomorrow, anything in particular I should ask?  My last period was in 1991, I had a hysterectomy due to cervical cancer but they left my ovaries in.  I've had a blood test which confirms I'm in the meno. I can't take hrt due to being on thyroid meds but I believe there is something else I can take beginning with 'D', whatever it is.  I think this is why I'm seeing the doc tomorrow.
« Last Edit: November 23, 2015, 08:43:19 PM by Louisa »

Dancinggirl

Re: Louisa
« Reply #1 on: November 23, 2015, 06:22:53 PM »

Hi and welcome to MM
Do read up all the info on this site to get clued up.  There are many ladies on here who have thyroid problems and still have HRT so it may be worth questioning this?  As you have had a hyster you would only need oestrogen and this may help with all sorts of things. Your alternative is probably an Anti depressant or SRRI but I doubt these would help with brain fog - these can make one feel detached and numb I believe and can also bring some difficult side effects. Do you get flushes &/or night sweats as well or is it just the brain fog?  DG x

CLKD

• changes can be scary, even when we want them
« Reply #2 on: November 23, 2015, 07:04:09 PM »

Browse round, do a search for any queries ……… lots happening, NICE guidelines could be helpful if GPs take them up!

I get the hazy brain fog too …… when I'm tired for example.

Louisa

« Reply #3 on: November 23, 2015, 08:46:18 PM »

Hi and welcome to MM