Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Menopause Matters magazine ISSUE 76 out now. (Summer issue, June 2024)

media

Author Topic: Sandrena Gel / Weight Gain??  (Read 26480 times)

luv2laff

Sandrena Gel / Weight Gain??
« on: November 06, 2015, 02:01:09 PM »

Hi ... I've been using Sandrena Gel (1mg per day) for 18 months and have felt good from it - no menopausal 'signs' such as flushes, mood swings etc (I'm 51).  However since starting using Sandrena I've gained over a stone in weight.  I can't completely blame the gel obviously, but I was thinking of doing a little experiment to see what happens.  I don't want to stop using it completely but thought of dropping the 'dosage' to 0.5mg a day instead of 1mg.  My question is ... do you think I should just use a 1mg sachet on alternate days? Or should I try to use just half a sachet each day?  Would skipping alternate days be detrimental in any way or doesn't it matter?
Thanks for any thoughts, advice or suggestions  :-* xxx

Hurdity

Re: Sandrena Gel / Weight Gain??
« Reply #1 on: November 06, 2015, 02:51:18 PM »

Hi luv2laff

I would suggest you are better off applying 0.5 mg per day rather than using the gel every alternate day. The prescribing info for Oestrogel say that when treatment is stopped estradiol levels return to baseline in 72 hours, so on this basis they will be falling well before then. Therefore to give yourself as consistent dose as possible I would use daily as recommended.

You might find that your symptoms return though if your body has acclimatised to that dose.

Have you thought of losing weight in other ways? You know - the usual ones - increasing exercise, strengthening muscles, changing your diet so that it's less calorific etc? It may well just be coincidence as you say - your metabolism may be slowing for a variety of reasons.