Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Menopause Matters magazine ISSUE 76 out now. (Summer issue, June 2024)

media

Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: Gone so nervous not the same anymore  (Read 7004 times)

Rebelyell

Re: Gone so nervous not the same anymore
« Reply #15 on: September 07, 2015, 11:42:19 AM »

I have tried CBT via the NHS 'Let's Talk' and actually am still on the list but haven't followed it up.    It works really well for some people but I found it a bit restrictive - the questions were very structured and didn't allow me to really express my full feelings and the treatment involved an awful lot of 'homework' ie, charts to fill in every day recording your 'trigger points' and how you coped.  I must admit I found this exacerbated my problems as I was forced to focus on it every day.  I find distraction is best for me.    BUT - I have to admit I am not good at talking myself round when having an anxiety attack [which can last weeks for me], I find it only goes when I feel better physically.   So I perhaps needed to stick with it.

Worth a go - another issue for me was the appointment slots had to be same every week, and I found that difficult due to being self-employed.

karenja

« Reply #16 on: September 08, 2015, 07:12:45 PM »

thank you all so much Ive been reading through your replies and so grateful to know Im not alone, Nefersmum I am exactly the same with my cat, she goes out and my heart is racing and sometimes Im up and down the road in utter panic calling her and if I cant find her Im in bits, anxiety is awful x

Sarai

« Reply #17 on: September 09, 2015, 10:46:41 AM »