Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Not a Forum member? You can still subscribe to our Free Newsletter

media

Author Topic: Asteroid shower  (Read 7220 times)

CJ-sleepless

Asteroid shower
« on: August 13, 2015, 09:40:39 AM »

Did anyone catch the meteor shower last night?  I read about it and decided I'd look.  Despite my being a total novice at such things, I downloaded a compass on my iPad so I knew where to look and saw the international space station go by, exactly where they said it would be at 10.30pm.  I surprised myself at how exciting it all was!  I did see a couple of shooting stars but nothing that would equate to a "shower" in my mind - not sure what exactly I was expecting, but to me a shower mean a lot of action lol!  Even so, I found the whole thing quite fascinating - gazing up at the stars makes you think how small and insignificant we are doesn't it

Joyce

Re: Asteroid shower
« Reply #1 on: August 13, 2015, 10:22:35 AM »

It was meant to be around 100 per hour. I didn't see anything, probably too much light from street lights.

ellie

« Reply #2 on: August 13, 2015, 10:40:13 AM »

CJ how did you know where space ship would be, and wil it be there tonight?   I looked for the shooting stars last night but didn't see any :(
  We were on a cruise once and at midnight we went right to the back of the boat.....it was a really hot and humid night and pitch black....it was AMAZING , like being enveloped in the stars. Millions of them and shooting stars everywhere.  We were so where in the Caribbean ...I will never forget that night  :)

thorntrees

« Reply #3 on: August 13, 2015, 10:45:25 AM »