Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Got a story to tell for the magazine? Get in touch with the editor!

media

Author Topic: Bio identical HRT  (Read 3889 times)

charliegirl

Bio identical HRT
« on: August 03, 2015, 09:01:41 AM »

Hi all, does anyone use these hormones, and can you get them from your GP on prescription. Thanks Charliiegirl.

Cassie

Re: Bio identical HRT
« Reply #1 on: August 03, 2015, 09:45:05 AM »

Bio identical HRT always seems to cause a bit of confusion I am no expert so hopefully someone will be along soon, are you referring to the compounded creams etc that some pharmacies make up, as far as I know, those are not considered safe to use as they are not really strong enough (according to my gynae) but many of us on this forum are on HRT that is also bio identical as in the gels, patches and the progesterone (Utrogestan) and yes these are available on prescription.

Dancinggirl

« Reply #2 on: August 03, 2015, 11:16:18 AM »

Hi
I am on what is considered bio/body identical HRT - Oestrogel and Utrogestan in a sequential regime and this is prescribed through my GP.  GPs may not always know or understand the difference between the various HRTs on offer so you often have to print stuff off from this site to show them what you want - the old fashioned types of HRT like Prempak C or Premique have non bio identical hormones, however, most of the newer HRTs now have bio identical oestrogen alongside a synthetic progesterone.
Utrogestan is the only bio identical progesterone and has to be taken separately to oestrogen in pill, patch or gel form. If you live in the USA then Utrogestan is called Prometrium.
Do look at the 'HRT Preparations section' under TREATMENTS above to find out more.  DG x

Kathleen

« Reply #3 on: August 03, 2015, 06:37:26 PM »

Hello charliegirl.