Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Mobile version of the Forum Click here

media

Author Topic: Hysterectomy and age  (Read 5459 times)

Buttons

Hysterectomy and age
« on: July 23, 2015, 11:43:05 AM »

Hi, I'm very new to this but am looking for some advice.  I'm 54 years old and after 2.5 years of heavy , very painful periods, flooding and passing clots as well as trying every medication available, I've decided I've had enough and want a hysterectomy.  I've now been told to come off the HRT Kliovance and Norethisterone immediately and if I have any further problems to go to my local Accident & Emergency.  Clearly they don't want to authorise a hysterectomy for me, but is this based purely on my age or hospital budget?  I have a "bicornuate" shaped womb which means I can't have a ablation nor have a merina coil fitted, after trying lots of different HRT and ending up having a 7 week long period with flooding and clots this is all they can offer me.  My sister and sister in law who live in different areas to me, have been offered a hysterectomy or gynae treatment at a private hospital, all on the NHS.  Am I doing something wrong?  I have no quality of life, always have to be near a toilet and just want my life back. :'(

Dancinggirl

Re: Hysterectomy and age
« Reply #1 on: July 23, 2015, 12:31:40 PM »

Hi and welcome Buttons