Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Got a story to tell for the magazine? Get in touch with the editor!

media

Author Topic: Hello another newbie here  (Read 3554 times)

Bettyboo

Hello another newbie here
« on: June 30, 2015, 10:20:54 AM »

Hello everyone!

I am so glad to have found this forum - genuinely thought I was going mad. I've just turned 51 and for the last three years I've been suffering with various symptoms which I'm now convinced are meno-related. I've moved house a lot and consequently changed GPs, but finally living in France where I've found the healthcare excellent, although yet to find out how they handle meno.

My biggest problems are health anxiety and joint/muscle pains. I've seen 8 different GPs about this - latest diagnosis was fibromyalgia, but I don't think it's this. Not one of the 8 even mentioned meno or hormones, not even a gynae. Until I found this site I had no idea that either anxiety or joint pain could be related to meno. I've been browsing the forum and see that many of you suffer similar problems. In fact, some of the posts I could have written myself. Although I've taught myself a few self-help techniques for handling the anxiety, some days it just overwhelms me - like yesterday, when I just couldn't do anything. I've also the other usual symptoms of over-heating, night sweats, irregular periods (two in last year), small fibroids, mood swings, irritability, anxiety...more anxiety...

Only taking propropronal (beta-blockers) at the moment for the HA, but been on them two years and not sure they are doing anything now.  I know nothing about HRT or anything so lots of research to do. I'm going to bite the bullet, go to the Doc's this week and demand some help. Look forward to joining in this great supportive forum.

bon courage  :)

BB

CLKD

• changes can be scary, even when we want them
Re: Hello another newbie here
« Reply #1 on: June 30, 2015, 10:41:54 AM »