Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Not a Forum member? You can still subscribe to our Free Newsletter

media

Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5

Author Topic: Struggling with it all  (Read 17665 times)

GypsyRoseLee

Re: Struggling with it all
« Reply #30 on: April 17, 2015, 04:19:55 PM »

You make an interesting point Freda.

If we're on HRT for anxiety/low mood/whatever, and it (hopefully) works, then how will we know when we can stop?

If the HRT makes us feel better by stabilising our fluctuating hormones, then as time goes by and we lose more and more of our hormones and so the difference in fluctuations has much less impact, then can we stop taking it?

I'm no expert, but if your hormones fall very low (past the point where they can cause issues) then would keep giving yourself extra hormones make you feel worse, again?

Does anyone know?

CLKD

• changes can be scary, even when we want them
« Reply #31 on: April 17, 2015, 04:24:40 PM »

If you feel well why stop? 

GypsyRoseLee

« Reply #32 on: April 18, 2015, 08:07:31 AM »

Well, good point CLKD  ;)

CLKD

« Reply #33 on: April 18, 2015, 08:26:55 AM »

When hungry we eat: stop when full.  If we find a food stuff that we don't like, we avoid it - otherwise? and a little of what we fancy …….. I went through loads of ADs until the GP found one that kind of suits back int he 1990s, since then I've continued taking them - acceptance was the hardest part, I felt my brain should cope without  ::) - but the alternative to not taking them ……..

Also I stopped telling people.  I think a lot of the problems in the West with taking medications is that we feel the need to tell anyone who asks: well actually, it is a private matter.  I tell who needs to know, other than my very supportive GP, my Psychiatrist and my Husband, unless absolutely necessary no one knows.  Especially my family  ;) whereas on here, I feel I can tell exactly how it is  8)