Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Follow us on Twitter and Facebook

media

Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: Anyone tried or on Provera?  (Read 17746 times)

Sunnydays

Re: Anyone tried or on Provera?
« Reply #15 on: October 02, 2015, 11:54:14 AM »

Thanks Dana. This certainly confirms how there's no one size that fits all.  As soon as the letter from the gynae reaches the doctor I'm going to bite the bullet and try provera with an oestrogen patch. I think I'll start on the low dose 25 mg patch. I hope progesterone can't take more of the lining than it should 😁!

Petra

« Reply #16 on: August 24, 2016, 12:14:01 AM »

A discussion on another thread prompted me to search for 'provera' and I did some reading...I guess I remain a bit confused about the progestogen/progesterone side of HRT, though I'm a bit of a newbie, too. Maybe I should start a new topic, but never mind...here goes. I'm on (1) Progynova (estradiol valerate) 1 mg and (2) Provera (medroxyprogesterone acetate) 2.5 mg...daily continuous. Some folks, e.g. Hurdity, have talked about side effects so I guess I had two questions:
1. What kind of side effects do people report with progesterones/protestogens/Provera
2. How do you know how little progesterone you need to be taking to protect the lining...? Or 'How low can you go'?
(It seems the estrogen side of things is a lot less complicated.)

Dana

« Reply #17 on: August 24, 2016, 12:54:02 AM »

I can only give you my experiences, and what my GP and pharmacist have told me, but hopefully it might be helpful to you.

I'm a little different to you, in that I'm on a medium hrt dose and I'm also on a two-monthly cycle. You are on a low dose and on a continuous routine (ie no periods). I use a 50mcg patch which would be equivalent to double your dose of 1mg of estradiol. 1mg (or 25mcg patch) of estradiol is considered a low dose and 2mg (or 50mcg patch) is considered a medium dose.