Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Got a story to tell for the magazine? Get in touch with the editor!

media

Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: Trust Me I'm A Doctor  (Read 8736 times)

Dandelion

Re: Trust Me I'm A Doctor
« Reply #15 on: November 13, 2014, 12:06:00 PM »

My main GP is a sweetie, although for some reason, the mention of hrt turned her into a cross between King Kong and Godzilla, hahhahahah

When I was detoxing from a certain medication, I found that she, like many other doctors, was not informed, so in the nicest possible way, I educated her, but not in an offensive way, and she used to call me an "Expert patient", I never did find out if she was being sarcastic when using this phrase. hahahhhahhahahah

:)

peegeetip

« Reply #16 on: November 13, 2014, 01:57:57 PM »

Laughed out loud at your description Dandelion ;D

Untill our docs stop doing the "godzilla meets kingkong"
then we'll have to rely on the help and support the MM site and forum gives.

:-*

dahliagirl

« Reply #17 on: November 13, 2014, 02:19:56 PM »

I am very glad about the existance of the internet.  I can look things up, the contents of medicines, take or leave 'advice', find out things that need further investigation, all at the drop of a hat.

Before that, I had to read magazines, buy recommended books, trawl the library.......

You have to learn to read the 'right' bits - the same with books.

I can even find out which book to read and buy it in minutes.

I have had 'odd' advice from doctors in the past.

Now I can make sure they are right, follow it up and find out more and make sure that I am getting things right too.  I can find out if I am doing the right things, eating the right things, getting enough exercise.  And why.

It takes time and effort and doctors do not have the time to explain things fully in 10 minutes - they can point you in the right direction and let you go there!