Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Got a story to tell for the magazine? Get in touch with the editor!

media

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Sage pills  (Read 10026 times)

babyjane

Sage pills
« on: November 03, 2014, 12:55:55 PM »

Hi, I see that some members use sage pills/capsules successfully for flushes and sweats and mood swings.  We watched Trust Me I'm A Doctor this week and sage capsules were featured as being good for mental alertness so I am interested in trying this.

when I looked them up the info kept saying that sage contains a substance called thujone which is harmful to the liver and should only be taken for a maximum of 4 months. If that is the case I would rather not start them, find they work and then have to give them up.

Can any members who use sage tablets successfully tell me more about this and is the information correct or not?

Thanks for reading  BJ x

honeybun

Re: Sage pills
« Reply #1 on: November 03, 2014, 01:21:53 PM »

My friend uses drops BJ. The make is Vogel. Not sure if the same applies.

I did try the drops but the taste was awful.

Honeyb
x

babyjane

« Reply #2 on: November 03, 2014, 02:42:25 PM »

Did it help your friend honeybun?

honeybun

« Reply #3 on: November 03, 2014, 02:50:00 PM »

Yes most definitely. She was on HRT for a while and then came off. Flushes returned but she decided to try sage and has managed very well.

Honeyb
x

libby1

« Reply #4 on: November 03, 2014, 04:16:16 PM »

Hi BJ

I take sage daily and haven't seen any info that it is harmful. Where did you read that it was?

Libby
x

babyjane

« Reply #5 on: November 03, 2014, 05:33:00 PM »

webmd website

Sage is LIKELY SAFE in amounts typically used in foods. It is POSSIBLY SAFE when taken by mouth or applied to the skin in medicinal amounts short-term (up to 4 months).