Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Mobile version of the Forum Click here

media

Author Topic: Serum oestradiol levels  (Read 3563 times)

evey

Serum oestradiol levels
« on: October 26, 2014, 10:20:10 PM »

Hi, I am 56 and post menopause 2 years, I use estrogel and utrogestan, I recently had blood tests and my serum oestradiol levels are 110 pmol/l , I have been using this system for 9 months approx but the last 3 weeks I have started feeling hot flushes and very emotional and extremely fatigued, I have been trying to google levels but any advice very much appreciated.

Dancinggirl

Re: Serum oestradiol levels
« Reply #1 on: October 27, 2014, 09:15:35 AM »

Hi evey and welcome to MM
How much oestrogel are you using? I am not entirely sure but an oestrogen level of 110 sounds very low.  When I was using Oestrogel I started with one pump per day when I was still peri menopausal and then later upped that to 2 pumps per day when my own oestrogen levels had bottomed out.  After your last period it can take up to two years for your own bodies oestrogen levels to bottom out so I suspect this is what has happened to you and you may need to use a little more Oestrogel.
Are you using this regime sequentially or continuously? What dosage of utrogestan do you use?
DG x

Hurdity

« Reply #2 on: October 27, 2014, 10:06:05 AM »

Hi evey

:welcomemm: from me too!

I agree with Dancinggirl - that does seem like a low reading although the results of one blood test on its own doesn't mean a lot - and the 2 year thing is about right. You can cope with less added oestrogen when peri-menopausal because you still have some of your own.

More important is to go by symptoms especially at such low levels. I would say yes you do need to increase your dose - but also depending on how much you are using, you may not be absorbing it very well?