Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Please have a look at the questionnaire page if you have a spare minute.

media

Author Topic: Coming off Prempak c - any advice  (Read 7845 times)

sweaty betty

• First Flush
Coming off Prempak c - any advice
« on: October 16, 2014, 03:15:48 PM »

This is my first time post and hello to you all – I hope I have posted it right!
I visited my doctor earlier this year for advice regarding HRT and whether I could take it.  I've now been on Prempak c for about 5 months.  Initially they stopped the debilitating flushes which were coming every 30 minutes and all through the night – I felt loads better. However, I was at first very wary of going on the Prempak as my family history includes my mother, 1 sister and grandmother all having had breast cancer and both my brother and mother had 4 heart attacks between them so I did not think it a good idea but he reassured me this wouldn't be a problem…..

Since starting the Prempak I switched to a different doctor who I found more sympathetic; she was less enthusiastic about me taking hrt at all, however, when I tried to see her again I was told that she has recently left the surgery and so I'm stuck with the previous doctor (who has a less than understanding reputation generally I might add). 

I have now started suffering really crushing anxiety attacks out of the blue – of course, this may not be caused by the Prempak but I am considering coming off them.

I don't know if it's a good idea to just stop them and wondered if there was anyone here who knew a way of tailing them off gradually.  I did read somewhere that you take one every second day for the first month and then one on the third day for a month but what do you do on the days with 2 pills to take?  I don't feel I can go back to the original doctor for advice :-(

Sorry this post is rather long.  Any replies would be greatly appreciated -