Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Please have a look at the questionnaire page if you have a spare minute.

media

Author Topic: The progesterone dilema  (Read 3511 times)

Dancinggirl

The progesterone dilema
« on: September 13, 2014, 05:02:23 PM »

Hi everyone.
As many of you know I am using the Estring for local oestrogen treatment for my VA.  You replace the Estring every 3 months but once you have popped it in you forget about it which is great.   I've just ordered my third one from the GP so I've been using it for 6 months - so far it's the best option of me.
I think I, sort of, posed this question before but put forward a 'Ring' as a oestrogen and progesterone HRT treatment.
It occurred to me that this 'ring' could be a good way to deliver just progesterone.  My daughter is using a contraceptive 'ring' - it looks the same as the Estring I am using but has different types of hormones for contraception. Many women use the Mirena as a way to deliver progesterone directly to the area that needs it which can bring fewer side effects.  Many women also use Utrogestan vaginally because, again, it brings fewer side effects.  This leads me to think that a vaginal 'ring', like the Estring, that slowly releases progesterone locally where needed could be a good option.  Many women don't like the idea of the Mirena, I've used it and I was initially not keen on the idea - having it fitted was extremely painful, however in the end I had few problems for the four years I had it.  The problem with the Mirena is that it feels as though you are stuck with it even if you don't like it very much and I understand women's reluctance to have one.  The advantage of a progesterone ring would be that you have more control - there would be less systemic absorption so possibly fewer side effects - and you then just use oestrogen in gel or patch form.