Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Got a story to tell for the magazine? Get in touch with the editor!

media

Author Topic: Newbie needs help!  (Read 3543 times)

Lochpark

Newbie needs help!
« on: July 14, 2014, 03:51:50 PM »

Hi everyone,

I am new here, just joined in desperation as the recent hot weather has triggered a series of hot flushes and sleepless nights which has left me feeling miserable. I am 48, started having irregular frequent & heavy periods about 18 months ago which have now tailored out to 4 in the past year with the record being nothing for 6 months. I have gained 3 stone in the past year despite walking the dog around 5kms per day and swimming once a week. My diet is not perfect by any means, however I am now a regular at wholefoods and as a Health professional I have read all the research I can put my hands on and tried every "natural" remedy out there to no avail.

I am astounded by the lack of knowledge from my medical and GP colleagues on this subject and the NHS reluctance to continue supporting research in this area, however I am lucky to have a menopause clinic where so far I have encountered only one Doctor whom I deem with any credibility sadly, my FSH was just under 30, oestrogen low, thyroid "normal" despite the weight gain. I was offered Femostan 1/10 however I have not taken it due to my concerns over breast cancer ( I work in oncology and on breast cancer trials - not one patient does not have a history of HRT / OCP use)  and my concerns over even more weight gain/ thrombus risk.