Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Mobile version of the Forum Click here

media

Author Topic: New here  (Read 3213 times)

RebeccaTM

New here
« on: July 09, 2014, 01:49:23 PM »

Hello, everyone.

Two years ago I was diagnosed with breast cancer. I've had chemo, double mastectomy (with immediate implant reconstruction, useful as I make my living as a glamour model!), radiotherapy, Herceptin and now on Letrozole. Because my cancer was ER+8, I have had both ovaries and fallopian tubes removed which has, of course, led to the menopause. I'm 53 next month but prior to my treatment the menopause was still a long way off.

The worst part of this is that as my cancer was estorogen receptive I can have no HRT, no estrogen at all is allowed. I do get some hot flushes but I think these are caused by the Letrozole. The vaginal atrophy though, has been caused by the lack of estrogen and Replens is not really doing it for me! But, as there are many ways to swing a cat (or is that skin a rabbit?) my husband and I are still very happy bunnies  ;)

So, this forum, which I have read many times, is going to be great for me.

Rebecca x
« Last Edit: July 09, 2014, 01:51:00 PM by RebeccaTM »

honeybun

Re: New here
« Reply #1 on: July 09, 2014, 02:56:22 PM »

:welcomemm:

Sorry to read about your health troubles but really glad to hear you have made a full recovery.
I understand about no oestrogen so other methods for VA are necessary.

Some ladies on the forum have used coconut oil for outer areas and ( I think this is right) Vitamin E as a pessary.

Someone else will be along soon to help.

Also if the flushes become a real problem then there are other pills that can help. Again someone else will advise.

Nice to have you with us.

Honeyb
x

Dancinggirl

« Reply #2 on: July 09, 2014, 03:06:09 PM »

Hi and welcome RebeccaTM