Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Follow us on Twitter and Facebook

media

Pages: [1] 2 3 4

Author Topic: No more BC?  (Read 11301 times)

Patientone

No more BC?
« on: June 19, 2014, 09:42:26 PM »

My Dr said I do not need to use birth control anymore .. a wave of fear has come over me !

I have been tracking my basal temperature for 4 years, the last detected ovulation was December 2012, and my last period mid January 2013.

I had several bouts of spotting and one long stretch of spotting in the summer and fall of 2013, this was due to fibroids.

Today my dr said .. no more bc.

I am excited and scared.
d
anyone out there that has experienced this ?  Did it take a while for you to trust your bosy wasn't going to spit out an egg?

Joyce

Re: No more BC?
« Reply #1 on: June 19, 2014, 09:46:51 PM »

Friend of mine was like you, bit scared, but GP said at her age, 56, she was safe enough.

Patientone

« Reply #2 on: June 19, 2014, 10:01:43 PM »

I'm 54 1/2

CLKD

• changes can be scary, even when we want them
« Reply #3 on: June 20, 2014, 02:12:48 PM »

If in doubt use BC.  One needs to be completely free of bleeding for 2 years  ;)

What were you using if that isn't a cheeky question?

Patientone

« Reply #4 on: June 20, 2014, 02:40:56 PM »

We have been using condoms, which with my irregularity had to be 100% of the time, so we're more that tired of that.

My Dr has always said 1 year. She also said the spotting I was having was due to my fibroids.

I faithfully chart my basal temperature, I have not ovulated since December 2012.

Limpy

« Reply #5 on: June 20, 2014, 03:21:06 PM »

I was told that over the age of 50, being free of periods for 1 year was the length of time needed to be sure BC wasn't necessary.

Also, see menu on the left:
http://www.menopausematters.co.uk/contra1.php
« Last Edit: June 20, 2014, 03:23:32 PM by Limpy »

Patientone

« Reply #6 on: June 20, 2014, 03:29:25 PM »