Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Not a Forum member? You can still subscribe to our Free Newsletter

media

Author Topic: Menopause "dreads"  (Read 6843 times)

kamanu

Menopause "dreads"
« on: May 20, 2014, 03:05:27 PM »

Hi I am new to this webpage.  I am 66 yrs old.  I started with HRT at the age of 42yrs old - had various kinds of HRT (tablets, patches) over the years - eventually had a hysterectomy.  I then was put on HRT implants where I felt on top of the world!!  Being in the nursing profession I was aware of a condition called tachyphylaxis and eventually this happened to me.  I then went back to having HRT in tablet form.  I was on HRT for 18 yrs in all and thought enough was enough and weaned off HRT.  Since then I have really suffered.  The daily flushes have reduced significantly and what I have I can deal with.  it is the night time ones that get me down.  it seems that every time I turn over I get a flush and I try my best to get a "cold" patch in the bed.  I also find I am getting these feelings of "dread" and don't know why.  These feeling only last a minute or two but why should I get them in bed?   Very occasionally I get them in the day but nothing like I get when in bed.  Is there anyone else out there getting this and if so what do you do about it?

Taz2

Re: Menopause "dreads"
« Reply #1 on: May 20, 2014, 03:19:58 PM »

Hi kamanu - welcome to the forum.

I get the dreads just before a hot sweat/flush during the day or night and have always thought it is to do with the body beginning to go into overdrive ready to raise the adrenaline levels. It is a most horrible feeling. I think of it as a feeling of doom. The only thing that gets rid of them for me is to use HRT which gets rid of the flushes for me. Sorry not to have anything to offer in the way of a "cure".

Taz x  :welcomemm:

kamanu

« Reply #2 on: May 20, 2014, 03:25:18 PM »