Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Got a story to tell for the magazine? Get in touch with the editor!

media

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Home Hair Colouring  (Read 10267 times)

Winterose

Home Hair Colouring
« on: April 08, 2014, 08:27:41 PM »

Advice please, I have just noticed quite  a lot of silver strands in my mostly light brown/fair hair.  I have some very subtle blonde highlights and low lights and they are just noticeable  and want a home colouring kit to wash away the silver bits without affecting my normal colour too much.  Is there such a colouring kit? Am complete novice in this area .  I have the discreet highlights done about every 4 months. Thank you :D

Scampi

Re: Home Hair Colouring
« Reply #1 on: April 09, 2014, 06:44:10 AM »

If your hair is coloured/lightened already, you would need to be extremely cautious with home kits - the colour they go will be affected by the colour you already have.

You may be best speaking to your hairdresser and getting it done at the salon. 

ellie

« Reply #2 on: April 09, 2014, 07:35:22 AM »

I am a retired hairdresser and totally agree with Scampi....There won't be a kit that does what you want .

Winterose

« Reply #3 on: April 09, 2014, 10:30:38 AM »

Thank you, thought it was a bit too much to hope for, just dont want a blanket dead looking colour , will get advice from hairdresser, might have to up the anti  bit on the highlights, my hair is very fine so could be easily damaged.

Rowan

« Reply #4 on: April 09, 2014, 10:51:31 AM »

Totally agree, can't tell you the times I have listened to some saying why don't you go darker, each time a disaster, all I get is a muddy look that takes away the shine.