Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Menopause Matters magazine ISSUE 76 out now. (Summer issue, June 2024)

media

Author Topic: Hiya, another newbie here and to the Meno!  (Read 4398 times)

Mudster

Hiya, another newbie here and to the Meno!
« on: March 21, 2014, 12:21:24 PM »

Hello ladies,

I am so glad I found this forum. Before I joined I read through a few of the posts and thought - ohh that's me! And I found some of the advice most helpful.. 

Short into to myself..    I am 46 years old and have been having erratic periods for nearly 2 years now.. I didn't really think much about it to be honest, and my memory hasn't been brilliant either for a while.. forgetting the stupidest of things, like the names of things, or words!
It wasn't till I went to see the Doctor about getting a mini pill in Oct last year as I was going on holiday and didn't want a period, it was then she asked when I was due on etc... Told her I had no idea, as I've always been regular as clockwork but nowadays was getting more erratic - I could come on after my usual 28 days and be on for about 6-7 days (normally it has been 4 days) and then other times I could go 7-9 weeks and only come on for 2-3 days!

It was then she mentioned the menopause. Probably sounds daft but I hadn't even thought about that - I was far too young for that - thats what 'older' ladies got! *Note to self - I am NOT in my 20's anymore!! haha.. 

So after my holidays I went back, she told me when I came back off the mini pill I would probably have a bleed about 3 day after - it was near on 7 days after when I did..  Anyway she mentioned hot flushes etc which I was only get a few here and there so I wasn't overly concerned - pah, this menopause is nothing to write home about...! 

So that was last Oct/Nov time... Fast forward to yesterday..