Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Menopause Matters magazine ISSUE 76 out now. (Summer issue, June 2024)

media

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: There is an elephant in the room  (Read 10195 times)

groundhog

There is an elephant in the room
« on: March 10, 2014, 10:22:03 PM »

I'm just wondering ladies if your life is like mine!  Every evening my husband comes home from work very tired.  I have explained before my mother had brain haemorrhage 2 years ago and I help care for her.  It's not easy and I'm not very good at it.  I struggle at dealing with my 'new' mother who gets confused and cannot walk.  Anyway,  because of this and other things, life between my husband and I is strained at times.  He works very hard - too hard - so that he doesn't have to help me with my mother.  He has  admitted that.  So he comes home puts his pjs on and gets his ipad out.  Now I must confess I was the first one to be on Facebook etc and I am on my ipad quite often but women can multi task and I can be on my ipad whilst doing other things ( like now - I'm doing this, listening to the news and chatting to my daughter ).  However when my husband is on his he can't seem to speak or even answer a question.  He doesn't move for hours on end - I can see what he is doing - sukudo, crosswords so nothing dodgy going on.  Some nights I realise we haven't actually spoken for 5 or 6 hours!  It's not a strained silence and we are both comfortable but I'm beginning to think is this normal??  Just wondered how everyone else spends their evenings and whether my worryng is justified.  I have tried suggesting going for a walk etc but no joy as he is shattered after work.  My daughter says this is normal and that's how couples are these days.  I walked into their home tonight and they were both on respective iPads.  So what do you think?  Or is it my menobrain overthinking yet again?

Joyce

Re: There is an elephant in the room