Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Menopause Matters magazine ISSUE 76 out now. (Summer issue, June 2024)

media

Author Topic: what to do??  (Read 3376 times)

annie10

what to do??
« on: September 02, 2014, 02:18:36 PM »

hi im a newbie on here..im 40 in two weeks and im going through a tough time of late....ive always been very heavy with my periods i use up too 7 packs of pads in 12-14 days...but then i used to bleed in between..ive done this since i started at the age of 9.

so now in the past two months its all chanheg i was due to have my op to have everything removed and it got cancelled because im now spotting....lasts for 3 days then its finished..doc thinks im pre menopausal.....i dont i think ive hit the jackpot!!!

night sweats..crying hot flushes neck and shoulder pain fatigue...all of the time anxiety...joint pain...my whole body aches and ive got pelvic pain?
i spoke to my doc earlier today and shes now suggested to having alot of bloods done tomorrow to check my hormonal levels...to see whats going on and she said i may have to go on hrt? ...now im looking up why and how this will affect me.im not sleeping either cant get comfortable.any advice i will be grateful for...i feel at my wits end

Taz2

Re: what to do??
« Reply #1 on: September 02, 2014, 02:45:21 PM »

Hi annie - welcome to the forum.

You seem to have got a good GP who is on the ball as far as premature menopause/early menopause is concerned. Yes HRT is recommended for someone who is going through prem/early meno as you will need it to protect your heart and bones. Up to the usual age of meno oestrogen is produced naturally by your body and this gives you protection from osteoporosis and heart disease but if you are in meno then you will not be getting this protection. HRT risks only begin once you reach age 50/51 (normal  meno age).