Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Menopause Matters magazine ISSUE 76 out now. (Summer issue, June 2024)

media

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Trust me I'm a Doctor TV programme  (Read 13916 times)

Dyan

Trust me I'm a Doctor TV programme
« on: October 24, 2013, 08:52:49 PM »

Did anyone see this tonight?
Professor Studd was on there putting across his positive views on HRT  :) and there was another professor who was mostly against it. >:(
His views are that if you have severe meno symptoms then a low dose HRT is beneficial but only take it for 5 years and anyone that has been on HRT for 5 years should come off it...........yeah right!!! >:(

jgr

Re: Trust me I'm a Doctor TV programme
« Reply #1 on: October 24, 2013, 09:01:17 PM »

I watched it as well, and it always amuses me that it is men giving advice on HRT/menopause.  ;D

Dyan

« Reply #2 on: October 24, 2013, 09:02:52 PM »

Yeah, what do they know? :-\ ;D

Hurdity

« Reply #3 on: October 24, 2013, 10:23:35 PM »

I haven't seen the programme and yes it might seem amusing - but Prof Studd at least has spent years researching it so although he is not a woman at least he is (mostly) on our side and knows what he's talking about re female hormones.

Hurdity x

Taz2

« Reply #4 on: October 24, 2013, 10:53:57 PM »

I watched it but was sorry they didn't mention what happens after 60. Professor Studd said "Women using HRT between the ages of 50 and 60" and I wanted the interviewer to ask what about the older women!

Taz x

Meg

« Reply #5 on: October 25, 2013, 01:06:30 AM »

Taz

You are so right.  For many women symptoms just keep on.  Sweating, anxiety, insomnia, rage, dryness, nausea, etc etc.  So many have been told they will come through it but find after maybe a decade that it is still all carrying on and what are they to do at sixty when they are still suffering.

Meg

Rowan

« Reply #6 on: October 25, 2013, 07:33:51 AM »