Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Please have a look at the questionnaire page if you have a spare minute.

media

Author Topic: Newbie here.  (Read 1679 times)

Dandelion

Newbie here.
« on: September 06, 2013, 12:43:49 PM »

Hi

I'm 47 years old tomorrow and I think I might be getting perimenopausal symptoms, but I am not sure, because I am also reducing tranquilisers, and the symptoms of tranquiliser withdrawal that I have been experiencing sound really similar to peri menopause.

I overheat and wake up sweating or very hot most mornings.

I joined here to see what my best options are.

I must admit, I don't like going to doctors after they got me hooked on tranquilisers as I don't trust them anymore.

I am from the uk and would love to speak to other peri-menopausal brits, as then, I will have a good idea of what to expect when I go to the doctors.

I am also looking foward, of course to meeting other women from outside of the uk.

honeybun

Re: Newbie here.
« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2013, 07:40:35 PM »

:welcomemm:

Actually most of us on the forum are from the UK although we have some members from much further afield. We have at least two from Australia.

It's a shame you have little faith in your GP. Are you thinking of HRT. It would perhaps be a good idea to get past your withdrawal from tranquillisers before you start with anything else. If your symptoms are similar to meno then you won't know what's what until you are sure you are over your withdrawal.

Look around and join in. Lots of help here.

Honeyb
X

Hurdity

« Reply #2 on: September 06, 2013, 07:41:22 PM »

Hi Dandelion

:welcomemm:

I can imagine you won't be able to sort out what symptoms are due to what, until you are completely off the tranquilisers.