Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Mobile version of the Forum Click here

media

Author Topic: Do I need Vagifem or not?  (Read 3537 times)

Jessiepup

Do I need Vagifem or not?
« on: June 14, 2013, 05:11:06 PM »

Hi , I am new to this site and am after some opinions.
I have been using Vagifem pessaries (10mg) for a couple of months for sore/burning vulva and uti,s.
It seems to be working, however I ad my appointment at the GU clinic and he took a swab to look at. He said everything looked normal and that there was plenty of Oestrogen so I don't actually need to use the Vagifem.(he said the vagifem hadn't had time to make a difference if I was deficient )

So I didn't use it for a couple of weeks and the symptoms have now returned, has anyone else had this experience? Don't know what to do know.

I am only 42 but my Mum and Nan were both in their 40's when it started . My periods are 25 days now but regular(used to be 29)

Rosebush

Re: Do I need Vagifem or not?
« Reply #1 on: June 14, 2013, 06:40:05 PM »

Jessie I would go back to see your GP and explain the burning as returned, if Vagifem cured the condition surely he will let you start using it again..xx

Limpy

« Reply #2 on: June 14, 2013, 08:03:48 PM »

Jessiepup,
You tried Vagifem and it worked, you stopped and problems come back.
Sounds like a no brainer to me.
Go and see your GP and get more vagifem.

I am on HRT patches, but occasionally I need to use gynest cream externally to deal with UTIs and burning,
otherwise they come back.

Welcome to MM by the way!

Hurdity

« Reply #3 on: June 14, 2013, 10:19:21 PM »

Hi Jessiepup

:welcomemm: from me too!

I agree with Limpy - how the doc can say this - duh!