Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Not a Forum member? You can still subscribe to our Free Newsletter

media

Author Topic: Newbie Needing To Vent  (Read 4934 times)

Chesh

Newbie Needing To Vent
« on: August 07, 2013, 03:34:38 PM »

Hi everyone,

I am a newbie here. at the age of 53, having been as reguar as clockwork with my periods since the age of 12, I woke up a couple of months ago and realised I had turned into a witch! My poor hubby does not deserve to have to put up with me at the moment.

For the last 12 months or slightly more I have found that I get periods of waking up at stupid o'clock in the morning (anytime from 2am) and failing to get back to sleep. It has only been recently when I have started to get other symptoms of the menopause (hot flushes) that I started to read up on the net about and realised that insomnia can be a symptom of the menopause.

Well for several months my life cycle has consisted of a week to 10 days or getting progressivley less and less sleep and getting more and more ratty. I was never certain if my rattyness was due to me being hormonal or tired or a combination of both. Then my period would kick in, on time and I would sleep but my periods have been a little heavier than I have known for some years and I have been experiencing discomfort like I used to as a teenager. Not much but enough to make you feel under par for a few days. Then a switch would flick and I would spend the next week running around like a lunatic trying to catch up with everything I had not done for the last 2 weeks because I had not been feeling "right"