Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Got a story to tell for the magazine? Get in touch with the editor!

media

Author Topic: HRT combi in Spain  (Read 9948 times)

hollibobs13

HRT combi in Spain
« on: April 15, 2012, 08:42:05 AM »

Hi, I am new to MM and would like some advice if anyone can help please.  I have been off Climagest 2mg for 18 months now but the flashes, insomnia and vaginal atrophy are getting worse instead of better!! :'( I would like to know if any ladies live in Spain and know if there is a combi HRT out here? I love Spain and all that goes with it but trying to get any info from a Spanish doctor is like trying to knit fog!  I have tried Meriestra which did help as far as the flashes go, but was very concerned when I read that if your uterus is intact you should not take an estrogen only HRT???  Wondered if I could take the Meriestra and back it up with something like Darstin or Vagifem which is readily available OTC. Please help!  I really need to get some sleep and less discomfort in the vaginal area.  Any help you can offer would be greatly appreciated!!

Bette

Re: HRT combi in Spain
« Reply #1 on: April 15, 2012, 09:04:30 AM »

Hi hollibobs
 :welcomemm:
You're right that you shouldn't take estrogen-only HRT unless you've had a hysterectomy; you need to take progesterone too to protect your womb.
Vagifem is estrogen-only but is very popular with ladies on here for VA and can be used without anything else, so it'd probably be worth you trying that anyway. It won't help with the hot flushes, though.
Have you had any periods since you came off the Climagest? If not, you could go onto a post-meno HRT now. The ones available in the UK are listed here:-
http://www.menopausematters.co.uk/postmeno.php
They may well be available in Spain but possibly under different names.